Wednesday, November 27, 2013

Next Generation Science Standards

Here is a recap of some of the information about the Next Generation Science Standards found at:

“In 2010, the National Academy of Sciences, Achieve, the American Association for the Advancement of Science, and the National Science Teachers Association embarked on a two-step process to develop the Next Generation Science Standards (NGSS). The first step began on July 19, 2011with the release of the Framework for K–12 Science Education. The Framework was a critical first step because it is grounded in the most current research on science and scientific learning, and it identifies the science all K–12 students should know.  The second step in the process was the development of standards grounded in the NRC Framework.
The Framework outlines three dimensions
Dimension 1: Practices describes
(a) the major practices that scientists employ as they investigate and build models and theories about the world and
(b) a key set of engineering practices that engineers use as they design and build systems. We use the term “practices” instead of a term such as “skills” to emphasize that engaging in scientific investigation requires not only skill but also knowledge that is specific to each practice.
Dimension 2: Crosscutting Concepts
The crosscutting concepts have application across all domains of science. As such, they provide one way of linking across the domains in
Dimension 3.   Continued expansion of scientific knowledge makes it impossible to teach all the ideas related to a given discipline in exhaustive detail during the K-12 years.

Become familiar with the Next Generation Science Standards so you can strengthen the STEM clubs and classes you have in your afterschool program.  Let us know how you are doing by sending information to

No comments:

Post a Comment

Let us know what you think...